Sponsored link
520253_All-Inclusive Caribbean Vacation


Top Stories


HC holds back demotion of MPS officers

IMPHAL, November 4: An order by the acting Chief Justice of Manipur High Court, LK Mohapatra has directed that the order passed by the government reverting four MPS officers to their former lower posts be kept in abeyance.

It may be mentioned that an order of the state government passed on October 18, 2013 on the recommendation of the Review Departmental Promotion Committee held by the Manipur Public Service Commission had appointed 40 police officers to the rank of MPS grade-II.

The same DPC under the same order had ordered the demotion of four MPS, grade II officers namely, C Nehemiah Tangkhul, Md Tombi, S Muhindro Singh and M Rameshore Singh.

In this regard, the four had petitioned to the Manipur High Court under Writ Petition (C) number 739 of 2013. The synopsis of the case mentioned that the petitioners were appointed to the post of subedar, Manipur Police department in 1995 and promoted to MPS, grade-II along with another 38 officers. It was also mentioned that they have been holding senior posts in the Police Department since and discharging their duties to the best effect.

However, their last promotion order dated March 2007 was challenged at the Gauhati High Court in 2010.

The petition challenging the promotion order was however dismissed on default. But, the DPC of the MPSC on October 18 had demoted the four police officers.

Afterwards, the four individuals filed a petition to the Manipur High Court challenging the said order of the government. They were represented by senior advocate N Kumarjit.

In this regard, the Manipur High Court on October 26 passed an order that as an interim measure, the notification of the state government demoting the said police officers shall be kept in abeyance till the returnable date of November 13, 2013. The respondents of the case include commissioner (Home), principal secretary (DP and AR), DGP of Manipur, MPSC represented by the secretary and including Thokchom Vikramjit Singh, Yengkhom Victoria, Watham Basu Singh, Polem Manjit Singh, Lenin Lamabam, Priyadarshini Laishram, Rashini Yengkhom.

Posted by Imphal Dispatch on 02:16. Filed under , . You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0

0 comments for HC holds back demotion of MPS officers

Leave comment

Recent Entries

Recent Comments

Photo Gallery